aerial view of campus

University Scholarly Achievement Awards

The University Scholarly Achievement Award is a marquee award for our university and a way to recognize standout researchers who embody our mission to make discoveries that change the world.

Each year, the University of Kansas recognizes up to four mid-career faculty members as recipients of a University Scholarly Achievement Award.

This $10,000 award recognizes a significant scholarly or research contribution, creative work (an exhibition, performance, composition, article or book, or major collaborative project) or a series of closely related contributions. This award covers all fields of scholarship represented at the University of Kansas, including, but not limited to, Arts, Humanities, Architecture and Design, Music, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Clinical Science, Pharmacy, Social Sciences, Social Welfare, Education, Journalism, Law, Libraries, and Business.


Congratulations to our 2024 recipients!

This year's award recipients are as follows:

  • Andrew Denning, associate professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (social science and professional programs)
  • Huazhen Fang, associate professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, School of Engineering (science, technology, and mathematics)
  • Lauren Ptomey, associate professor, Department of Internal Medicine, School of Medicine (medicine and clinical science)
  • Armin Schulz, professor, Department of Philosophy, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (arts & humanities)

Read more about this years winners in our March 2024 announcement from Chancellor Girod.


Selection Process

All nominations were evaluated by a panel of eight individuals, representing the following areas:

  • Arts and Humanities
  • Science, Technology, and Mathematics
  • Medicine and Clinical Science
  • Social Science and Professional Programs

Members of the selection panel are appointed by the chancellor.


Contributions will be evaluated using the criteria below:

  • Advances the field of scholarship;
  • Exhibits novelty and originality;
  • Promotes scholarly and research activity or creative works at KU; and
  • Enhances the university’s national and international reputation.


To be eligible for consideration, the faculty member must hold the rank of Associate Professor or Full Professor; be within 10 years of appointment as an Associate Professor at the time of the current nomination; must have completed three academic years at KU; and must not have received a prior major KU award for this body of work.

Nomination Process

Individuals may self-nominate or be nominated by others. Departments may nominate more than one individual for the award.

A complete nomination should be sent by midnight, Sunday, December 17, 2023, and must include:

  • Documentation of the scholarly or research contribution, or creative work, as appropriate for the discipline (e.g., articles, books, creative products); 
  • A letter of nomination of no more than 750 words explaining in terms comprehensible to an educated layperson how the contribution meets the award criteria;
  • Curriculum Vita; and
  • Two reference letters (at least one from outside KU) from individuals who are qualified to comment on the merits of the scholarly contribution (send directly to the address below).

Nominations can be sent electronically to with “Scholarly Achievement Award” in the subject line.

Nominations and reference letters can also be sent to: 

Office of the Chancellor 

ATTN: Scholarly Achievement Award Committee

1450 Jayhawk Boulevard

Room 230 Strong Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045